Published in 1947...

...in the section for rats and mice it advises against poison (which I agree with), but suggests stuffing corks soaked in turpentine into their little entrance holes...

But I used wire wool and topped them with cement last night.As well as all the other extensive damage, the little blighters had been tearing the cork tiles over the last few weeks off my walls.

I got up this morning after having done that last night. I looked in trepidation by the gas meter, but there no mice footfall activity. But there are 3 other holes in that base of the kitchen unit where water etc comes in. So there could be more mouse entries...

I had been ready to rip up that base of the kitchen unit, but I just cut away the wood around the gas pipe and meter. By the way did you know the gas meter makes a hell of a racket pumping away? My cochlear processor was right next to it as I was under the sink trying to cut the wood away. It was actually quite scary. I took the processor off in the end. There was a danger of it falling off or reattaching itself with its magnet to the gas meter or even worse falling into the mouse hole, and the little critter darting back up the hole and snatching my cochlear processor to use for nesting material...

All day I have kept going back to the kitchen unit to check, but no mouse footfall activity.

At the first sign of any new mouse footfall activity, that base unit will be ripped up, the floor which looks more like rubble than floor will be concreted to within an inch of its life.

I am behind on a lot with all these efforts in trying to catch the little critters. I have spent today trying to finish an online course I joined which expires today. Yes, I know it will come round again in a few months, but there are several courses I have joined and I was progressing from one to another, so I needed to finish it today.

So no creative work or gel plate printing...again...

Maybe tomorrow? But I have the plumber coming tomorrow morning. And I still have to organise the gel plate printing stuff and tidy it up.

I have another old book planned for Blip tomorrow if I cannot get to gel plate printing. The wretched mice chewed through some of this household hints book. It was at the back of the tinned shelf of foods, along with some other very old books. The mice were standing on the books to chew through the wooden shelves the tins were on to get through to the next shelf.

If I have made any typos in this post, I don't have time to check until I finish the online course tonight, or until after midnight when my online course expires. I need to get back to that now...

Thank you for all your love.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.