Equitable

Detour route home this evening as the high speed train network was cancelled, so I got some new scenery to look at. DLR "toy train" from Stratford to Woolwich Arsenal, 20 minutes to get a blip wandering around Woolwich, a slow train to Northfleet then a walk to get my car from the train station with no trains.

Woolwich had changed so much since I used to work there over 30 years ago. The old Woolwich equitable building society head office is now a pub! and there's a large bear gifted from the mayor of Berlin in the square! I didn't recognise much. The old arsenal gatehouse still remains though. Funny enough I was contacted by some people I worked with in Woolwich 30 years ago over Christmas, a reunion is in the planning.

Talking of "equitable" - Webster's dictionary states the meaning as "dealing fairly and equally with all concerned", not sure the GB government understands this...

Ps - I'm not sure the homeless people that populate the square are that interested in watching snooker on a big screen - probably more interesting than watching brexit though!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.