Bradders

By Bradders

Two trekkies in Tai O

Rosie and her boyfriend Nick came down from Shenzhen today and I showed them around.

A couple of years ago I used to work in Hong Kong I was based on Lantau Island and led outdoor activity sessions for school groups. Before my work in Hong Kong I worked as an outdoor activities instructor at an American summer camp in upstate New York with Rosie. In those sorts of jobs you meet all sorts of characters and form lifelong friendships across the world.

In April last year I was so happy to meet up with Rosie when we were both working in the French Alps. And now we are here in Hong Kong, fate has brought us both to this corner or Asia so it goes without saying we arranged to meet up.

After minor bus confusion we explored Tai O fishing village and a little cafe out in the stilts, Ngong Ping and Big Buddha, Central Hong Kong and the Temple Street Night Markets. Sadly we missed the laser show.

After that we got the train north, I filled out a form and got a 5-day visa for the Shenzhen Economic Zone. Time to go see mainland China! (briefly)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.