Grappling Iron

“Go on, try and lift it, go on, it’s really heavy, surprisingly heavy, you’ll be amazed, it must be made of cast iron, go on try and pick it up, go on”.

Mrs Smith has been Mrs Smith for so long she knew that the only way she’d get any peace to eat her meringue was if she tried to lift it. So she did. She was surprised by how heavy it was. I knew she would be.

After I’d worn her down and grabbed my blip she returned to her (world class) meringue and I daintily sipped my peppermint tea.

This was at the recently opened Bonnie Badger in Gullane. We should have gone earlier but I’ve found it hard to forgive them for not inviting me to the grand opening when Kenny Dalglish pulled the first pint behind the bar. We ate in the restaurant but the bar beckons next time with its four ale fonts and a two page whisky menu. That’s once we’ve navigated dry January obviously.

Mrs S had been going elsewhere with a pal who had to cancel due to illness. So, as I was getting nowhere with a proposal I suggested we headed over to Gullane. Glad we did, very impressed, that Tom Kitchin clearly knows his onions.

Back to wrestle with work of the financial services persuasion before doing some preliminary work for a digital venture and some desk research for a dog food client.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.