Squabbling Goosanders

Horrid wet weather. :( I decided to take Ollie dog to Fishers Green and sit in a hide if need be.

A pleasant man was in the Bittern Hide and we got talking. He was impressed by Ollie's hide etiquette. He left but returned immediately to tell me that three pairs of goosanders were directly outside. I've never seen them here before. Ollie was off the lead and loved hurrying back and forth with me over the bouncy bridge trying to get some decent shots. Not much chance of it as the light was awful and it was raining. My lens misted and I had to take the filter off. It was lovely hearing the sawbilled diving ducks' low quacking and watching them squabble.

On the way home we called in at Longlands Hide and I got an image of a muntjac deer having a wash amongst the stalky remains  of the green manure. These dog-sized deer have extremely long tongues. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.