O.L.A.F.

By AndyG1982

creative writing

New year, new activity. I decided to start a night class. And creative writing seemed like fun.  Ive dabbled in writing before. I use to write a blog.
I wrote a book, then i wrote another book. I wrote a short film, then i wrote another short film, then i re-wrote a boring script and made it about batman! But i haven't done anything creative in years, and i was never really that good at it. So time to get back into the habit.

I thought it only best to go to a class with a notebook, luckily i stumbled upon one while cleaning the house the other day.  Believing this to be a brand new notebook, i counted myself lucky, put it in my back pack and didn't give it another thought.

That is until i got to my class, and opened my notebook, and discovered it was not new, but had been used. partly.

I stumbled upon two pages of notes from a regional meeting i attended in 2015, and a series of numbers i can only assume were my sales figures. I also found a rather lengthy to do list which was written during that meeting, and im fairly certain i didn't do any of it.

I wonder if it's too late to send an email about this?

After wandering down memory lane with my meeting based scribblings, i turn the page, expecting to find yet more cave paintings that i call notes of things i should have done 4 years ago but didn't. Instead I was presented with a neatly lined page, with two words written at the top.

Those two words were Demon Hamster.

I did not write these words, i very much doubt they would have been brought up at my 2015 regional meeting. I worked for a paint company, not a pet shop in hell.
Very odd. It was not my handwriting, and it wasn't the writing of Mrs G. So who the hell wrote demon hamster in my note book? What is a demon hamster?
Is it an insult? is it a fun nickname? Is it the name of the latest trendy dance? I'm not sure I've got flossing nailed yet, never mind the demon hamster.

I tried to do some research, but i got lost in google images. There are some strange images which appear when you google demon hamster.

I have decided to take it as a sign, and i will not try and write a short story about a demon hamster!

My class was quite interesting, we all had to write something starting with the sentence
I remember...

We were each given a prompt to start us off, and mine was my first pair of shoes. I wrote something i thought was mildly amusing, and at the end our teacher asked if anyone would like to read out their work. After hearing what the others had written, i decided not o speak up. Mine was shite! it re-read it afterwards, and it's like an 8 year old wrote it. The stories read out were eloquent, interesting, and painted an actual word picture. Mine was about a pair of shoes and i pointed out they felt like i was walking on air, but not actually flying, (just in case the reader was a moron!) I am hopeful that over the course of the next ten weeks, my writing will improve, and you never know, so might my blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.