Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Truncated

It is always sad when one of the neighbourhood's landmark trees goes. This tall ash sat in the middle of Tong Park's large field (as seen in this older photo) and was a regular perch for kestrels; I guess it must have fallen during the weekend's winds. I spent of time investigating the fallen branches and exposed trunk (extras).

I had gone looking to see if yesterday's Teal was still there. It was, but was adept at hiding at the edge of the pond. On the main dam there was a single Goosander and one Gawall pair is still hanging around. There was a small flock of Redwing grazing the cricket pitch and a fair few Robins and Wrens about.

Later, I headed over to Keighley for another Steeton game. Tonight's visitors were Garstang, a place I used to live quite near during my Lancaster years. It was quite an entertaining game and 2-2 seemed about the right result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.