Ghosts of the Past

Today we visited the farm where I spent my first 12 years. My brother had organised a visit to coincide with my son and his family travelling through Narromine on the way back from their road trip.
When the weather forecast was for 44C I was a bit concerned but didn’t want to miss it. Narromine is a three and a half hour drive west of here but we got up early and arrived soon after 9:30am and before the worst of the heat.
We were made very welcome by the son and grandson of the man my father sold to.
It was very nostalgic for me. I had been back a couple of times but not for maybe 30 years. The house has not been lived in for almost that long and is now quite derelict and storing old junk which is sad. However it was still very recognisable.
I’m not sure the grandchildren were quite so impressed to see where I had grown up!
The extras are the old fuel stove I remember so well and a scene of the sheds and trees which look much the same. On the left you can see the sheep loader which my clever father built over 60 years ago. It’s still in use:-)
They are going to demolish the old house soon and rebuild for the next (4th) generation so I’m so glad I managed to get there again before that happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.