Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Computing and almond bread

When I worked for a living a colleague and I taught an undergraduate  course entitled "Brute force computer programming for ecologists". One of the topics that we touched upon was Benoit Mandelbrot's work on the mathematics of scale and fractals. My colleague  who was mathematically gifted wrote a program to visualise the Mandelbrot set on a BBC computer; it took 3 days to compute the output! Today's blip shows a Mandelbrot set that I produced with a modern program running on my Mac. It took much, much less time  than the blink of an eye to produce the goods. How computers and programming have advanced! 
I have always thought Mandelbrot to be a wonderful and striking surname, one worthy of a great mathematician. My enthusiasm for the name was a bit dented, but only slightly, when I discovered that it translates as almond bread. Hence the superimposed plate of almond bread!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.