Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Amaryllis

There is a story! Some of you may recognize the fact that this is an amaryllis bulb that is in wax - no earth - no pot - no need to water. This one was not mine originally. It was brought home by The Husband who had found it in a dumpster, and when I first saw it, it had a dead flower stalk. Clearly whoever owned it first had considered it finished. But! In addition to the dead flower there was also a new bud peeking up! And the tips of leaves. Having heard tell of these wax things - I think maybe on Blip, actually - although never actually seen one before - I knew I wasn't supposed to water it. So I just sat it on the kitchen counter in front of the window and waited. And now - here we are! The blooming begins! Bless its heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.