S is for....

...Stead the Signalman.  This is a picture of my grandfather taken in 1952, when he was 64, by a Hull Daily Mail photographer. He is pictured at work in his railway signal box at the Walton Street crossing.  My father had this picture for many years but when Hull flooded in 2007 many of his photos were damp damaged. The scan I took of the original is in the extras. I patched it up with the software and little photography knowledge I had and put a copy in a frame which we have on the bookshelf.  I tried searching the archives of the newspaper to see if there was an accompanying article but unfortunately they only go as far as 1950, from 1885!

Its been a miserable, wet day.  I met Ann out as usual and we had lunch in Pret. Then straight home, the weather being too unpleasant to hang around. (You could say it was Showery and Soggy Saturday but luckily with no Sleet).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.