More lentils

I was just cooking lentils to eat tonight when I read an article about how we could save the planet by changing our diets . . . and apparently we should be eating more lentils. 

I bring Puy lentils back from France and cook them quite regularly. They keep their shape when cooked and taste delicious. 

So I was feeling a bit smug, until I realised that the way I will be cooking them again later is not quite what the report has in mind - the little cubes of carrot and celery are fine but adding cubed pancetta, and then serving them with the pork chops that Gordon bought from the local butcher this morning, is not quite in keeping with the ideal. 

However, the flexitarian way is not necessarily vegetarian or vegan, it is just a way of cutting down drastically on the amount of meat protein and eating far more beans, pulses and lentils. I have to say that we do eat meat, but far less than we used to do and we get it all locally whenever possible. And we do eat a lot of vegetables too. When I look at the suggested diet again, I am not sure that we are that far off . . . well maybe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.