Stars In My Crown

One of the minor, nagging things that tends to bother me about having moved back into a heavily urbanised area is the lack of a sky. Don't get me wrong, there's still one up there - it would present something of a conundrum on various physical, environmental, cosmological and existential levels if it had somehow gone missing - but it's just that you can't see the bloody thing; at least not after dark. What happened to the stars? There's nothing in their place but a black eternity as empty as the Greek treasury.

Of course, we make up for the lack of starlight with tons of electricity to brighten the winter night. But it never really compensates for the feeling of seeing and knowing your place in the vast universe, which is perhaps why even an ardently non-religious person like me can be moved by a hymn like Stars In My Crown (performed here by Waterson:Carthy). The fact is that there's not a lightbulb built that throws light on the nature of infinity, though admittedly I've yet to explore all of the relevant aisles down B&Q.


I am thinking today of that beautiful land
I shall reach when the sun goes down
When through wonderful grace by my saviour I stand
Will there be any stars in my crown?

Will there be any stars in my crown
When at evening the sun goes down?
When I wake with the blessed in the mansions of rest
Will there be any stars in my crown?

In the strength of the Lord let me labour and pray,
Shall I watch as a winner of souls
That bright stars may be mine in the glorious day
When his praise like the sea billow rolls?

Will there be any stars in my crown
When at evening the sun goes down?
When I wake with the blessed in the mansions of rest
Will there be any stars in my crown?

O what joy will there be when his face I behold
And with gems at his feet to lay down
It would sweeten my bliss in the City of Gold
Should there be any stars in my crown

Will there be any stars in my crown
When at evening the sun goes down?
When I wake with the blessed in the mansions of rest
Will there be any stars in my crown?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.