Parade of Standards

Attended the Royal British Legion Gloucestershire County A.G.M. today, it always starts with the parade of standards (Video - https://youtu.be/9ofxVJQdIxE)

My friend, Julie, is also a Rider and she plays the bugle. Did a fabulous rendition of The Last Post and Reveille after the silence. I didn't take a photograph of her as we were standing to Attention at the time and throughout the silence.

There is quite a bit of ceremony but also the inevitable reports and speeches.
At the end there is presentation of trophies and certificates to recognise achievements and service to the RBL.
I was staggered when my name was called for the RBL Riders Branch 'Rider of the Year'! The award is the extra photograph.
When I got back to the other Riders I asked what I'd done to deserve it and was told that I'd raised nearly £2,500 doing the 500 and 1000 mile rides, giving the presentation to Belmont special school in Cheltenham about the RBL and WW1 explaining what the poppy appeal was for and why we use the poppy, attendance at events and commemorations through the year.
I felt very humbled but quite proud to be recognised in this way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.