St.Mary’s (?) Well

Grange Hall, Asby

After a haircut, I went to find this well on my way out to see my friend. On the way I walked by a Romano-British settlement at Holborn Hill which felt as though it would have been quite significant in it’s time. The sheep now very firmly established in residence.

The well is sadly neglected and I got the distinct impression that exploration wasn’t encouraged. It was surrounded by barbed wire and the enclosure was full of brash. Having got that far I decided to bite the bullet and clambered over. Clear water within and topped with substantial moss covered carved stones and a cruciform topstone. Grange Hall was originally a grange of Byland Abbey.

The whole area has such a feel of layers of ancient history but the poor old well felt neglected and lonely.

On my return I had a quick check in with St.Helen’s Well at Asby which Paula has blipped before. Definitely one of the most impressive.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2137251806835638543

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.