CALLY : Starting out

By Cally

I can't believe it's sitting there looking at me!

CALLY
I an so chuffed to get this fox!
We (Dog and I) set out in the car to catch a sunset blip in a different locale. It was looking promising and I was trying to find a good skyline. We passed a vineyard on the lower side and I glimpsed a couple of kangaroos reclining at the edge of the rows of vines. Oh, a blip, I thought, so hurriedly parked further on. I gave Dog strict instructions to Wait and Be Quiet, then crept back across the road, keeping low. But they must have heard the gravel under my shoes because as I got to the long grass bordering the vineyard I could hear their thump thump as they bounded off. I peeped over the grass and could see they had travelled down different rows and had stopped at a safe distance, looking back at me. Not the best possible shots in the dimming light. I decided to walk further down to the edge of the vineyard as it appeared to be a good angle to get the sunset. And then I noticed something else moving along a row, stopping to sniff, then dig a little, then chew on some long grass. A beautiful young fox exploring. I held my breath and tried to get closer through the long grass, snapping away. But it heard me, looked straight across at where I stood. Then moved back into tall grass. Oh, nooo! Lost him...I waited; seconds later the fox re- emerged , looked around, then sat facing my way. I couldn't believe it! The light was now so dim but even so I have caught him in all his cuteness. I know they do harm, I feel for the lambs and chooks, etc. But this one was so innocently beautiful tonight, I felt really lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.