horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Hitting the Top 40

Again, just in the B Race, but I got the start sorted. Actually, better than that after taking the coach's words to heart and pinning my ears back. Must have been 12th or so to the top of the first climb, and around 20th over the line to start the first lap proper. I was never going to hold that, but it does make racing somewhat easier by avoiding the inevitable bottlenecks further down.

Last lap, about a third of the way to go, and my chain shipped. Cost me three or four places, but adrenaline hit, and I took back three (two on the penultimate sweeping corner, as I took the outside, praying for grip all the way round in a death or glory move). Might have been higher but for the chain, but that's part of the sport, and I'm pleased with the day's efforts overall.

Went all 'portrait' for bits of the A Race photos - the snot in the main image winning out over the last extra (love the leaves being kicked up).

Tired and muddy, and looking forward to a beer tonight after staying dry last night...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.