Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Fiendish!

I had intended to call this “Memorial, bandstand, croquet hoops” but I have had a devil of a job trying to get it absolutely vertical. No matter what I do with it, the memorial appears to be listing. I have drawn a dead vertical line through the centre of the sphere at the top and rotated the image fraction by fraction until the middle of the base of the memorial is on that same vertical line, so I conclude that the list must be an optical illusion.

Be that as it may, I enjoyed a lovely long walk in the sunshine this morning. I haven't the faintest idea what these three hulking timber arches are all about. Chatham's shipbuilding history? Rochester's cathedral? The castle? The University for the Creative Arts close by in its remarkable building which cascades down a monstrously steep hill?

But I enjoyed lining up the arches with the bandstand and the memorial and I have a treat to look forward to this evening, another visit from family members. Joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.