NellieD

By NellieD

An apple a day

It was my friend's birthday today so 8 of us met up for lunch. They will start to recognise me at the restaurant as I am back there on Thursday with my crochet group, and then possibly again on Saturday for an Iceland planning meeting!

This sign, and the cooking apple trees, are right next to the Vimto monument and the statue of Archimedes which I blipped previously

The apple pips have been donated by National Trust’s Woolsthorpe Manor in Lincolnshire, the birthplace and family home of Sir Isaac Newton. Newton’s tree still flourishes in the orchard there and continues to inspire visitors from all across the world.

Jannette Warrener, Operations Manager for Woolsthorpe Manor said: “I’m delighted to share apple pips with other amazing sites for science across the country and hope that the project will engage young people with the fascinating story of Newton. He truly shaped modern scientific thinking here at Woolsthorpe when he worked on his theory of gravity and also explored light and calculus.”

Quote for today:
Tact is the knack of making a point without making an enemy.
- Sir Isaac Newton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.