a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Ancient History

In the very early 70's - nearly 50 years  ago, my parents splashed out to have a professional photographer come and take some family photos at their home.  They were never terribly happy with the results, which meant that, rather than ending up framed in pride of place on a mantlepiece, they languished in a drawer somewhere.  

Two of them recently came to light, one of which is this group shot of the 5 of us: Dad, Mum, my sister Janet, my younger brother Brendan and myself.  

Mum died 11 years ago now, so its lovely to see her looking as young and healthy as she does in this photo, I think that she would have been in her late 30s at the time.

I'm looking particularly angelic I think - which just goes to show whow misleading photos can be.  Looking back at that smooth skin, and innocent gaze, where did it all go wrong?  

Its funny as I look back now, I can see all sort of family resemblances between the 3 siblings and our parents that completely passed me by back in the day.  To my surprise I look much more like my Mum than I think I ever realised.

Janet is looking very smart in her kilt style skirt and trendy jumper with her lovely mane of dark hair.  I'm wearing a paisley tie and a v-neck pullover knitted by Mum.   It does look as though I have a pillow stuck up the back of the jumper though!  My brother Brendan has managed to wear holes in the toes of his sandals - I'm not sure how he will have managed that - what a little scruffian ;-)   !!!  

But the highlight of the shot has to be the carpet - its amazing in mono - in colour it was something else.  It was black red and orange .... vibrant doesn't do it justice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.