lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

What a tree

I've been reading another book about trees - this one is called "The Trees in My Forest" by Bernd Heinrich. It's over 20 years old and some of the science is old but it's still very interesting. At the time, he owned a large tract of forest in Maine with several different kinds of trees which he describes, compares, contrasts...

One of my favorite lines from the book is, "To learn to know something is less to gaze upon it from known paths and vistas than to walk around it and see it obliquely."

All this leads me to be a bit more observant of the trees in my neighborhood, which are many - mostly doug fir, cedars, beech, and maples. The one pictured is one of a set of 3 on the edge of a neighbor's property. These candelabra-like trees are fascinating and I always admire them as I walk by them.

Thank you for the hearts and stars for my first blip-birthday yesterday. I wasn't paying attention and didn't realize it was my 365th until you mentioned it. I can't believe how fast it went by and how much I enjoy seeing all the different perspectives. Thanks for visiting my journal.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.