Alberta

By Alberta

My street

Continuing with the one/my street theme .. I watched today as the 'coconut man' agilely shot up the palm tree in front of our house and hacked down the bunches of coconuts with his scythe ... how he balances there on the leaves is anyone's guess .. I tried to capture him but he was so buried in the heart of the tree that he just didn't stand out .. but as I watched I saw this little old lady marching very determinedly down the road. I have seen her before .. she was walking so fast that I had to scramble to catch her with my camera .. anyway here she is with standard attire for Kerala - a light saree and an umbrella ...

I can put on a saree but the first time I did it on my own one of my Indian friends rushed up to me "Not like that A .. that is the country way of wearing it" (very practical I had thought to have it over my ankles given the state of the ground) and she ushered me away to rearrange it so that it brushed the floor...

This is a country lady!! And very practical she is too I might add ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.