Marsupium Photography

By magi

Golden Boy and the Total Eclipse

Got up early to attempt to take so photos of the lunar eclipse. Yesterday's walk was mostly to scout for a good location which was trickier than expected. I've got a handy application on my phone to figure out the positions of the sun and the moon. The really cool bit is that it also does augmented reality where it shows the position as view through the phone camera. Exactly the thing, provided the digital compass works reliably. Ah well, I settled on Drummond St with a view of the dome of Old College. I am very happy with the position. Exposure was very tricky and I clearly need to experiment some more. Looking at the images at home I got the idea that I could have tracked the various stages of the eclipse from that position. Ah well, maybe next time.

Work was busy. Need to get everything ready for our workshop in a couple of days.

Some more pictures of the eclipse on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.