Choose Joy

By Energia

Super Blood Wolf Moon

It was cold, it was cold, it was very, very cold. 
This is one of very few that technically count as being taken today because it was very cold so shortly after midnight I stopped. I have ones with a longer focal length and ones with different coloring as a result of the exposure, including a lovely purple one. This one has a touch of my house in the foreground but only if you look closely and your monitor allows you to see it. 
I'm glad I took them even if it was so cold. The whole family enjoyed the excitement of repeatedly going out to the driveway and staring at the sky even if it was so very, very cold.
Thanks to the magic of texts it was even an extended-family, across-the-country affair. 
It would have been nice to have a sturdier tripod because it was windy (and cold). I have a lightweight travel tripod. I forgot that I could attach a weight to the middle. Since I was shooting straight up it would have been nice to have a taller tripod too. It would have been nice to have a sturdier ballhead because I used my biggest, heaviest lens, bought for my trip to Yellowstone in September this year. Still, it should have been within the capacity of my ballhead as the lens weighs 3 lbs and the camera one. I know I don't have the strongest fingers...
All of this is to say that while the colors are extraordinary I wish the pictures were sharper. 
If you have suggestions for a ballhead that you recommend for someone without the strongest of fingers please share them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.