abasu

By abasu

Marunouchi in infrared

This is my first attempt at infrared photography. Without converting my Canon 7D, fitting the R72 IR filter on the lens, this is what I got in monochrome. Shot with a 80 seconds aperture, it amplified the effect of what a strong ND filter would have done. Note how people who have crossed the road during that 80 seconds left trailing semi-transparent images. Also, moving trees have caused ghosting. So have some of the fallen leaves on the road. I definitely need to experiment more. After all, I am expecting a different output than what an ND filter would produce in monochrome. I am a bit astonished why the sky turned out quite lighted instead of the typical dark black in IR photography. The sky was clear blue, but I have to say that in this shot, the sky between the buildings looked more of an afternoon pale white, so that could be the explanation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.