Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Granny's medals

When Kangzu set the challenge for Tiny Tuesday today with the theme being special memento I thought immediately of Granny's medals.  My father's mum, Amy O'Toole, was a fine pianist.  I was told (but need to do a little more research on the point) that she used to make pianola rolls.  I don't have much from her but I do have these three medals. 

The first on the left on the back has Senior Amy O'Toole 1914.  On the front is  something I can't make out and then Music London.  The second has her  initials on the front and then on the back,  Miss Mabel Ottons class
Best Music Pass 1916.  The last has Amy O’Toole.  First prize piano solo Labor Eistedford 1915.  Granny died when I was about 6 so I don't remember her very well.  I know that she was adored by both my father and grandfather.

Thanks for the challenge today and hosting Kangazu!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.