Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Diptych: Passing

I felt very awkward photographing in Switzerland and confirmed my impression that there must be (at least for me) some measure of intimacy and familiarity with the environment. In Switzerland, I felt like a stranger overwhelmed by the strangeness of my surroundings. Here in Arraial, I feel so much at home that I can concentrate on the details and on what happens close to the heart (like the picture that I blipped yesterday). Perhaps being at home means the ability to see your world your way, and not as a stranger or a tourist... I don't know, there's still so much I have to process and think about - besides the profound experience of seeing my parents getting old and fragile so quickly (I hadn't seen them (and especially my mother) for some years).

Thank you all for your very kind comments on yesterday's blip. I will be blipping more regularly now, but I have much work to do after an absence of five weeks and don't have the time to respond individually. I hope you understand.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.