Navajo Weaving.

The Navajo Native Americans have been weavers for centuries, their work being traded over a large area, especially rugs and blankets.  The arrival of the railroad in 1881 connected them to a global market for native crafts. The process of Navajo weaving and their designs are a form of communication, like a language with codes that carry meanings embedded in cultural and historical contexts. (on the leaflet I was given)  I watched a Navajo weaver at work in Colorado Springs when visiting my daughter and family some time ago. This is one of a set of small table mats, that I bought at the time. I was thrilled with them but was rather disappointed with the sewn in label, MADE  IN INDONESIA !  I also met a Cherokee, who is the local Avon lady. She had wonderful paintings on animal hides hanging on the wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.