Special Memento

Particularly special to me because I got it for my parents as a memento from Hong Kong when I was sea and long before I met Mrs W.
 
I have always loved it because it has been so intricately carved, and that I haggled the price down to about a tenth of what was asked.  I know I had reached the sellers rock bottom price when I went to pay with Barclaycard and he went pale – I added 10% to cover his costs.  It was quite expensive to use Barclaycard back in the sixties, especially abroad as it was done via Bank of America in those parts.
 
Knowing what we know now I am pleased to say that this little ball, along with all other ivory bits and pieces, can no longer be sold on – not that we would want to anyway.
 
Many thanks to KangaZu for hosting Tiny Tuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.