rb231

By rb231

Ducks

Dropped Charlie off at Jo's this morning as she'd offered to take him to the pictures. Then I popped down to the bank in Musselburgh. I parked the car behind the High Street where there's a little car park by a footbridge that crosses the Esk. Ducks and swans live on and around a small island in the middle of the river and seagulls and pigeons also frequent the place; hoping, no doubt, to grow fat on the scraps of bread thrown out by parents, children and old men.

You just need to step near the river to become the centre of attraction. These ducks gathered below me as soon as I placed my hand on the rail. At first I felt a bit of a fraud, being the one to take (a photograph) rather than give (crusts of bread), but I guess that's the price of co-existence these birds must pay. I've been down with the kids a number of times feeding these birds and I will be down again, no doubt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.