serpent

By serpentine

Taking his ease

After an interminable journey I'm back in my old haunts.  All is changed, brightly lit shacks line the lanes and my old bamboo roundel, thatched with bamboo leaves, has been replaced by brick and concrete.  But the rooms are comfortable with attached bathroom so I don't have to pick my torchlit way through crabs and insects to a distant shower block at night! My taxi driver from the airport asked if he could fetch his wife and 11 month old daughter to accompany us on the long journey - well who could say no as it entailed visiting their Portuguese home built into the side of a hill - an extended family of 25 adults and 3 children so the parents worked as there were so many grannies and aunties (see extra) to care for the babies.  After a supper of prawns and veg I slept like a log and am now off to see if I can still walk the beach and then find any old friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.