Possibly the best

By Letters

Morphine

Visited a friend just out of hospital following a fairly major organ removal procedure. He confided that during the course of pain killing he had seen a glass of water on its side with the contents intact, a table tilted at 45 degrees with the glass still on it and a nurse walking down the wall towards his bed.
I hadn't the heart to inform him about the introduction to my new novel.
"The doctors surgery consisted of several rows of seats all facing the mantelpiece. To the left was a desk. When the phone rings, the occupant said, you need to book them in. I listened but when I looked, all I could see was a pad with eight pouches bearing names. Looking down I saw old timesheets bearing patients names and appointments from the past 6 days.
Fellow workers who gathered around said not much to help apart from one who said something about the gathering of souls and some distant reference to being available. After a short while I was looking again in the direction of the mantelpiece. There was a clunk and I looked up to see a boy of about six who had thrown a lump of coal onto the fire. He chuckled as younger friends looked on.
One of the patients in the front row obscured my view for a second. When I looked back the boy had fallen head first into the fireplace. As his head and upper body burned I found myself unable to help. Someone shouted to the doctor to help but nothing happened. After a few seconds I could see that the boy was burned beyond help. His upper body on the left side glowed cinder like. Someone dragged him out of the fireplace."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.