Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Underneath the Arches

While shopping for Christmas presents back in December (bear with me on this!) I spotted a book called "111 Places In Glasgow That You Shouldn't Miss". Since no-one gave it to me as a gift, I went out and bought a copy a few days after the festivities ended.

While many of the places listed in the book are familiar to me, there are many more of which I was unaware, and even for the former many of the descriptions and history are fascinating.

The second entry in the book is "Seven Arches" and refers to artwork underneath a disused railway bridge in the Gorbals area of the city. I hadn't heard about this before, so I took a trip out there on Wednesday. Three panels represent local people made good (my Blip for today): Hannah Frank, an artist in the Art Nouveau style, Allan Pinkerton, who emigrated to the USA and who would go on to found the Pinkerton Detective Agency, and Benny Lynch, who was only 22 years old when he became Scotland's first world boxing champion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.