The old ones are still the best :-)

Once Hendrix has had his porridge, had a change and dressed, it's getting on for 08:00 and the BBC Radio 4 Extra Classic Comedy hour. There's comedy either side of 8 to 9 but this is the hour for The Goons, Hancocks Half Hour, Parsley Sidings, The Men From The Ministry, Round the Horne, Beyond our Ken, and other such fabulous comedy shows from my childhood and youth.
The Goons, of course, inspired many of the old comedians nowadays like the Monty Python cast and many others.

I can't imagine what I'd do without my little DAB (Digital Audio Broadcasting, not to be confused with radios that just say 'Digital'). Only problem with this one is that the headset socket is broken but one bonus is that I can, for some unexplicable reason, get 'Jazz FM' which departed from national DAB broadcasting a few years ago to concentrate their efforts on London. No other DAB radio in the house can get Jazz FM and I find it amazing that this tiny pocket radio can!
Even as an old telegraphist/telecomms bloke I don't know why that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.