All white overnight

About half a degree this morning and our drive is slowly thawing! Walked down to the town and chatted to a few people. One was my friend Dave, a retired street sweeper. whose wife sadly died a few years ago. He had a memorial bench made with a plaque in her memory, and over Hogmanay some mindless vandals threw it over the seawall and smashed it. Fortunately the manufacturers repaired it free of charge and it's now in a position further away from the seawall. Hard to believe the actions of some people! He seemed a lot happier today. (I've put a picture on as an extra)

We came back home along Ardconnel Road for a change and had this lovely view of the mountains of Mull over the rooftops of Oban! This is first time they've been really covered with snow this winter. Of course the old 'Isle of Mull' just happened along at the precise moment!

After lunch I thought I should try to get the car down to the road and fortunately managed it without sliding. From now on I shall pay more attention to the forecasts!

My extra today is something that made me laugh. I received my new passport through the post and in the back page is a label with a strange message. It reminded me of a photograph which appeared on 'That's Life!' many years ago, showing a sign planted in the water of a lake. The sign read 'Please don't throw stones at this sign'! I suspect that the latter was a joke!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.