Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Pigeon fanciers

Meet Andy and Willow.

Today has been a long one, beginning with a very early (and abortive) attempt to see the kingfisher, then much of the rest of it spent in Southampton not, I have to confess, my favourite city.  The last thing I did before I came home was go to see my lovely ex-business partner in hospital.  Not only has she been pretty unwell for the last couple of years, but she got knocked off her bike last week and badly broke the top of her leg.  She's been in Southampton General since then having it pinned back together.

As I was going into main reception, what should I see but this pair.  Willow is a female harris hawk who works, together with two falcons, to keep the hospital buildings and grounds  as nearly pigeon free as it's possible for them to be.  I have to say, when Andy told me that my mouth dropped open.  I'm sure you'll now tell me it's quite common, but I've never seen it before.  The eccentric byways of life...

After my appointment tomorrow I shall be able to wind down for the weekend, thank goodness.  Thank you so much for your patience, lovely blipfriends.  And yes, tomorrow or Saturday I hope to turn my comments back on.

All the best  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.