Four story

By fourstory

Craft, and ambition

This is the teaching garden at Dumfries House near Cumnock.

I was lucky enough to have a tour round the estate today, hearing about all the different activities and how they have developed.

As someone who's had a garden for about a year and is completely captured by it (and at times by the weeds I might say!), I found it all fascinating and would have loved to hear more about individual plants and schemes.

But it was a day job visit, and so focused on how the community and schools are taking part, how jobs and skills can be developed, and how the economics of an estate like this work. All also fascinating.

My job brings unexpected days and opportunities sometimes, and this was one of them. A privilege to be there, because of the excellent work being done, but important to remain myself too, as I had coffee, in the library, with folk I normally see on the telly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.