memento

By memento

A case of the paranormal?

So at about 2:30 this morning, I'm immersed in a vivid and wonderful dream about being in a lush valley at sunset. Majestic mountain peaks tower above me...the sky is alive, swirling with feathered creatures, among them giant red and silver peacocks, their chests catching and reflecting the sun's rays in brilliant flashes of gold and copper. I notice that their bodies are actually covered in sequins and beads -how extraordinary!

My wonderment is rudely interrupted by two simultaneous noises coming from somewhere in the valley...it continues..then a voice says: what the f...?
As my dream state fades I realize that the noises are coming from the bedside stand-the closed laptop started up and the radio alarm turned on in the middle of a religious conversation.

This is the paranormal part...the laptop was shut down and the alarm hadn't been set.
Hard to sleep after that.

After having morning coffee, waking up and thinking about it, my husband, the brilliant and very level-headed one, figured it out. The laptop wasn't shut down properly and just started up for whatever reason, replaying the last youtube video that was watched. In the scuffle to turn the laptop off, the alarm's radio button was brushed and turned on. As for the religious conversation that I tried to read a meaning into, that's just what was on NPR at that moment.

I still think it's weird, it sure felt super weird and slightly creepy when it happened.
So, to the house ghost or alien responsible...we are friendly, we like ghosts and aliens just fine and we like to sleep till about 7:00am.


props and processing:
- paper and cardboard cut-outs/shoplight/flashlight
- PS motion blur added to part of the figure

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.