TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Look who just dropped in for a quick worm!

View this beauty large to see her in all her glory.
I don't know if she is getting used to me but this female kestrel has been very close on a couple of occasions today.
Both times I was sitting in the garden taking some morning images of a robin and some nuthatches - not in the hide and not wearing any camouflage gear (actually wearing a white dressing gown - couldn't be more conspicuous!).
The first time she flew over my head - about 2ft away - calmly had a look at me (in amazement at a woman sitting in the cold in her dg?) and continued on over the feeders, upsetting the birds on the way. No photos - too busy catching flies (my mouth was wide open).
About 30 minutes later I was watching her (I was still very obvious) in her favourite position in the pear tree when she floated down in front of me to pick up a worm in the shade of the hide. About 2 yards away. She didn't bother to look at me, even with the motor drive going and calmly flew off over my head (she did look at me then - more of a smirk!).
Rushed inside to see if I had managed to do her justice (I could so easily have mucked it up in my panic!). This isn't the best shot (I am keeping that for a special occasion.....) but I am pleased with it nonetheless.
Happy days!
canon 1d; 420mm; iso400; f/7.1; 1/1250"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.