A Book and an empty Cup!

It’s been raining ALL day so I decided to do a bit of book sorting and dusting!  This Mary Midgley book fell to the floor.  She is a philosopher who I can relate to not necessarily for her views (I don’t agree with all of them) but for her straight-forward use of language.  In other words, I don’t have to have dictionary sitting by my side to know what she’s talking about.   She didn’t like the way Richard Dawkins used language!  I did go to a talk she gave once and one remark that struck true (or did I read it somewhere?) was that had it not been for WW2 when a lot of Oxford male students were conscripted, the women like herself, Iris Murdoch and Mary Warnock might not have gotten the notice that pushed them into the scene as prominent philosophers.  She got a lot of her ideas about Artificial Intelligence from another favourite of mine, Margaret Boden  -  falling in love with a robot!  Scroll down to be end of the magazine for her article. Sadly, Mary Midgley died last year aged 99 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.