Mono Monday: "Origins"

The challenge Jensphotos has set for Mono Monday this week is to give the background to our choice of blipnames and how we came to join. 

Inverculain is the old name for my house (or more accurately, the house which first stood on this site). The earliest surviving mention of it dates from 1264, but as that's a record of money being spent on repairing it the house was presumably built a bit earlier. The picture is a detail from a map by Timothy Pont, dated ~1591, showing, although it's not labelled, what was probably the house as it looked then. (It's a tiny detail from a large map, and it's the first time I realised blip has a minimum image size of 600x600 - hence the added border!)

As to how I came to join, a friend of mine (who's a much more serious photographer than I am) was a member and persuaded me to sign up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.