yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

MonoMonday - Origins

My Blip name is Dollykgray and I love snow, in case you haven't realised by my recent Blips. I try to feature snow in my Blips when there is some around. These birch trees with their reflections were featured in my very first Blip. No reflections were seen today due to the frozen lake.
This nickname was given to me by a dear friend at work many years ago. She house sat for me when I was overseas and said that my small flat was just like a little dolls house and that I am like a little dolly and wear dolly clothes and she will call me Dolly from now on. This was overheard by one of our colleagues who was outraged as this was her nickname and had been since she was a baby. Unperturbed, my friend said that I would be Dollygray and the name stuck. My friends from the workplace still call me Dollygray, although it has become Dolly K Gray after I married. interestingly, my mother said that Dolly Gray had been her nickname when she was younger. There was a song around called Dolly Gray and I also found a book called 'Good-bye Dolly Gray'
Thanks to Jensphotos  for the theme of Origins for MM this week.
Edit: I forgot to write about my Blip Origins. I had moved to Austria in 2012 and was missing work, family and friends. I saw a Facebook friend’s Blipfoto, an admired calligrapher and artist, GrahamMcArthur. I thought this would be good for me to fill the gap, get me out of the house more and keep my friends and family informed of my life in Austria.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.