Not a Hawk

Figured I'd take a little break from raptors. Found this Monarch butterfly caterpillar in the front yard. Nobody told him he is way out of season! They have appeared in a few yards recently, maybe because folks are planting controversial milkweed to provide food for them. The way I understand it, the problem is the milkweed is growing at the wrong time of year. I don't think this guy has much of a chance, even if I bring him inside. But in the meantime he is happily munching his way through the garden.

I had quite a fine adventure at home this afternoon. While I was watching the caterpillar, I heard little scrabbling sounds in the weeds and watched, fascinated, as the sourgrass was being sucked back down into the ground. I looked for awhile, and then couldn't stand it a moment longer--got a stick and cleared around the area and found a hole leading to some underground haven. I really hope it's not a gopher. There was no mound, just a hole. And I've never seen anybody eat sourgrass before. I should have just left it alone until it cleared the whole bed!  

And then I walked by the daphne, which gets bigger and bigger every year. From a few feet away you can begin to sense the thick sweet air. Oh my. 

And all that without leaving home! Good for me, because I was feeling poorly and feeling sorry for myself. I do love my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.