RavensRoost

By RavensRoost

MonoMonday: Origins

This is the view of Mt. Adams from the master suite, taken during the construction of our gorge house we called Ravens Roost. A picture of the completed house is in the extra.

It was a wonderful and exciting chapter in our lives. We searched the Columbia Gorge for two years and in 2003, bought an 80-acre piece of hillside property that overlooked oak, Doug Fir, and Ponderosa Pine woodlands, and prairies with views of Mt. Adams, the tip of Mt. Rainier and the Goat Rocks. 

Over the next several years we put in the road, well, septic, electric and built a fabulous home. My husband grew up working in his father's commercial architectural firm and then became an engineer. He many hours researching the latest building techniques and designing our home. I believe that Ravens Roost was an ode to his love for me. 

When I first began to post on blip we lived at Ravens Roost. I loved the beauty of seasons and the changes in light, landscapes, flora, and fauna of the area. I enjoyed sharing this world on blip. 

Managing this large house and property and the need to be closer to an urban center pushed us to return to Portland in 2017. Although it was difficult to say goodbye, it has been a wise and timely move for us. We are back with family, friends and I enjoy a new granddaughter.

My blipping is far more hit and miss today. I seek a muse to stir my spirit, and I haven't quite found it in this new environment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.