SIGNS

By Mickky

Riv.

Captured this sign near my grandparents' house. Both the bridge and the river indicated in the sign are becoming tourist attractions of the city (because of recent movies filmed in the neighbourhood) and I bet the sign has newly put there. Anyway what caught my eyes was the use of the contracted form of 'river.' Only two of my English to Japanese dictionaries had a reference of such a contraction, and I found no such mention in any of my English dictionaries; nor did I find that contracted form in pictures of genuine English signs retrieved on the internet.

This day, I visited my grandparents after taking an English proficiency test. The test itself was really tough, and I was so happy when I left the venue finally. In the evening we all went to a sushi restaurant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.