ba-Midbar

In the wilderness.

The title means 'in the wilderness' or 'in the desert'; it's the Hebrew title of the fourth scroll of the Torah, which English speakers know as the Book of Numbers in the Pentateuch.

The steps of this painting were weeks apart. First I dabbed paint on a canvas board and let it sit, wondering what to do with it. Then I found a greyscale drawing of a shepherd in the Magnificat missalette and collaged it onto the board (shown in the Extra). Today I spent a six-hour art class painting it. 

Where did these creatures come from? First a fox. Could that be Fineen? Then an Egyptian. And finally a crocodile. They just showed up. I painted the title in Hebrew and smiled in satisfaction, like God's pleasure at beholding what he had wrought.

Extra: Several unfinished paintings, including this one in an earlier state, waiting for inspiration.

-----------------

I think Blip is going to tell you I have completed THREE YEARS today.
But they're wrong. I have been here almost six years!
Where are the rest of my photos? 
I guess I was lost in the wilderness. ;-)))

Many thanks to all the blippers old and new who have sprinkled my journal with hearts and stars and comments, and who have inspired me with their images. 


To those who've turned off their comments, I hope you'll leave a comment for me today so I can comment back! I miss you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.