Tiny Tuesday: Special Memento

My attempt to burn off my head cold at Keep Fat last night failed miserably and within minutes of waking up I decided to give golf a miss today. Instead I spent a good bit of it reading and a small part rooting outand blipping this memento of my Dad for today's challenge.

As you can see from his salutation, this was a Christmas 'card' (it's actually printed on airmail paper) he sent to my grandparents and two aunts the Christmas before the end of World War 2. As it reveals, he drove lorries in the Royal Army Ordnance Corps and by this stage was involved in the North Africa campaign, moving across the continent and then across the Med and through Italy. Like others of his generation, he rarely talked about his war experiences and I know no more about them than this.

Although the card isn't that tiny (5" x 4") I've tagged it for Tiny Tuesday onthe tenuous grounds that his writing had to be very tiny to fit in the limited space allowed :)

We did venture out this afternoon to meet Kate and view a flat she is interested in in Bridgwater. She wants to move closer to the school she works at and get Sophie settled in the area before she starts school next September (can that possibly have come round so soon?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.