Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Snowdrop Time

There are hardly any snowdrops in our garden. There used to be more. I think they get washed down the hill. Certainly the roadsides round here are thick with them. 

No snow either. It tried today, but it was wet stuff and didn't lie.

I've blipped my snowdrop pendant.  It was a birthday present from my mother about forty years ago. My birthday is in February, so it was an appropriate choice.

My Mum had a difficult life  - born in the First World War, married during the Second, widowed in the 1950s.  Getting by was the order of the day. My  birthday presents were normally something of practical use - underwear, gloves, maybe a pencil case or a purse in a good year.

After I'd set up in my own home, the theme continued - usually something for the house, and my children were bemused by the annual gift of socks and pyjamas.

That's why this pendant is so special. Just once, she saw something and gave herself permission to buy me a non-useful present. And so I treasure it, a special memento, my shot for Tiny Tuesday today.  Thank you, KangaZu for hosting the challenge.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.