Symond faces his fears

from not wanting to touch these handsome lobsters to finally holding them aloft for me Symond took lots of encouragement and about 5 minutes!  What beautiful colourful beasts they are (see extra).  And no I am not having one for supper.  This morning's walk took me off the beach again exploring to see  if I could find the concrete platform under the trees where I spent months contorting myself in the name of yoga.  We hung upside down from the trees for ages each morning, I learned to do handstands and do shoulder stands on the beach with my head in a hole - I lived in a teepee and helped cook food for the group.  Looking in my diary recently I found an entry that talked about sitting by the river, watching the fish, a water snake wriggling along on the bottom and kingfishers diving in and out from the opposite bank.  Well today taught me not to try and find these places again.  The two simple shacks on the beach where we ate for a treat are now huge and  multiplied by twenty - all with wooded beach beds.  There is a road instead of a path along the river and motobikes raise a billow of dust as they pass.  The edges of the river are walled and the yoga platform has long gone, to be replaced by many 3 storey buildings, mostly offering different forms of yoga or ayurvedic treatments.  Felt rather sad but then thought how many people can now be employed and how many can enjoy the treatments or classes.  Every evening we have a flypast of cormorants on their way north to roost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.