Blue Dogs

By bluedogs

The Reward

Today has been a day of missed opportunities for blips. This morning there was glorious sunshine. I spent the afternoon in the garden preparing for the arrival of the greenhouse next week. Blue was cold but insisted in accompanying me in the garden so I had to put his coat on. The sky went really dark blue with bright shafts of sunlight on the trees which looked gorgeous....

... but I didn't take photos of any of that! By the time I came in from the garden it had got dark and Blue had had enough of his coat, so the pic you've got instead is of the chocolate brownie I rewarded myself with for all my hard work in the garden.

I made the brownies yesterday. They're gluten-free and actually taste like brownies! (which if you've ever tried shop-bought gluetn-free brownies you'll know isn't often the case). I don't think I've blipped anything about not eating wheat before (but I should do some back-blips with some recipes). I was having lots of stomach pains about a year ago, first we blamed moving the plasterboard (there's a blip of that somewhere), but then someone suggested cutting out wheat. I gave it a go and felt better than I had done in years, so decided that it must be a good way to go.

Anywho, for those of you who are on the wheat-free wagon, here's the receipe (I think it was a Doves Farm receipe but I can't remember).

Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies

Melt 150g Plain Chocolate and 100g butter together in a bowl in the microwave.

Put the following in a bowl and mix together...

75g Gluten Free Plain Flour (I used Doves Farm)
25g Ground Almonds
150g Light Muscavado Sugar (or any soft brown sugar will work)
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Xanthan Gum

Add 3 eggs to your dry mixture and stir, then add your melted chocolate mixture.

Add chocolate chips or hazelnuts if you want.

Put in a lined square baking tin and bake in the oven for 40min at 160 c.

Take them out of the oven, leave to cool for as long as you have the patience for (about 10sec for me!), then cut into squares and enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.